Backstage - OOC Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Slaver-hounds aren't a type of dog? For more information see here.

Author Topic: Getting a handle on the backstory for RP purposes  (Read 2282 times)

Brenaris

• Clonejack

Hi

So I'm new to Eve, just been around a month. I'm looking to get more involved in RP related corps, alliances and other activities.

Finding it somewhat difficult to develop a character concept because of a lack of understanding of the general New Eden history and backstory, barring the brief synopses of the races. The official site references some compilation PDFs, but the links are broken.

Is there a good generalized history (both pre and post game launch), or am I looking at working my way through a lot of scattered articles on the official site and elsewhere?

Thanks

lallara zhuul

• Now with rainbows and butterflies.
  • Veteran
Re: Getting a handle on the backstory for RP purposes
« Reply #1 on: 03 Feb 2011, 13:22 »

Reading through the Chronicles is always a good start, there is a lot of information to get you started on EVElopedia as well.

Be the Ultimate Ninja! Play Billy Vs. SNAKEMAN today!

Elsebeth Rhiannon

• Omelette
« Reply #2 on: 03 Feb 2011, 16:43 »

"Reading through the chronicles" is quite a heavy task.

I would suggest that you make a very rough sketch of major points of backstory you want to have - is you character from an influential family or a low social class, was he wealthy or poor before becoming a pilot, what sort of training he has (military? engineering? whatever passes for "classical" in his/culture?), is he religious/spiritual or not, what motivates them now (money? patriotism?).

Then try and figure out what those mean in the culture you want. Ask for feedback here. Do not fix too many details.

And then just start playing. Make up new details as you find out new PF.

Matariki Rain

• Sweet, gentle Mata
  • Pod Captain