Backstage - OOC Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

That Sabik's Sepsis is a blood disease that rarely lasts into adulthood, but is considered sacrilege when it does? (The Burning Life, pp. 20,21)

Author Topic: A race?  (Read 2124 times)

Djimbo Pakkat

• Clonejack
A race?
« on: 13 Nov 2014, 04:28 »

I won't give too much away, but I'm putting together some ideas for a race, as it looks now, it's pretty epic (if I do say so myself)

Thing is, I'm not sure on the logistics of setting one up, anyone exerienced in races or events like this... Could you please drop me a mail in game or a reply on here? It would be greatly appreciated.

Milo Caman

• Guerilla Gardener
  • Pod Captain
    • Out of Sinq
Re: A race?
« Reply #1 on: 13 Nov 2014, 05:01 »

Sounds pretty sweet. I have no experience in setting this kind of thing up, but I'd definitely be interested in sponsoring/participating/watching such an event.

Maybe livestream it?

Lyn Farel

« Reply #2 on: 13 Nov 2014, 05:18 »

It's difficult and asks for a lot of things :

- Heavily time consuming, just to set up every track.
- Asks for community managing qualities, as well as advertising your event.
- You will need a basic grasp of game mechanisms and gamedesign to set up a good idea which is fun to play and not too convoluted either (convolution is your worst enemy as it turns organization into a nightmare and allows for easier cheats and stuff like that).
- Be sure to know which hulls you allow, and if there are many with obvious discrepancies, maybe create different separate classes if you want people to still use them all.
- Don't hesitate to get help from other organizers. Doing all that solo is a daunghting amount of work.

Djimbo Pakkat

• Clonejack
« Reply #3 on: 13 Nov 2014, 05:30 »