Backstage - OOC Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

the 25ers resurfaced in YC106 to protest the monopoly then held by the empires on deadspace warp beacon technology.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: You are not a Storyteller  (Read 2397 times)

KJLLV

You are not a Storyteller
« on: 02 Feb 2011, 06:03 »

An excellent article here that sums much of my view. Ta to Elaron for picking it up.

Elsebeth Rhiannon

• Omelette
Re: You are not a Storyteller
« Reply #1 on: 02 Feb 2011, 10:34 »

Very good read, thanks for pointing it out.

Sophie Starsparrow

• Clonejack
« Reply #2 on: 02 Feb 2011, 20:19 »

This is a very good read and while he does make a very good point, there is something is he leaving out, no doubt for clarity's sake.

I am very new to rp, but I am very experienced at Improv. Those that are best at Improv are those that are best at collaborating. I agree with him because I believe an individual should not approach rp with a pre-set story as far as the future goes. I disagree with his title because what I find most promising or enticing about rp is the chance to create stories collaboratively, which means we are indeed story tellers.

Kaleigh Doyle

« Reply #3 on: 02 Feb 2011, 21:32 »

I don't entirely agree with the author's assertions that storytelling and roleplay are mutually exclusive. I think you can tell a story and keep it fresh and dynamic in a roleplay environment, and in the end have a tale that could have ended many different ways depending on how its participants reacted. Alternatively, an environment without a direction and ambiguous general goals leaves people lethargic.